Community & Social Inclusion

Comhairle na nÓg

Kerry Comhairle na nÓg is one of 31 youth councils in the country, which give children and young people the opportunity to be involved in the development of local services and policies and supported by the Department of Children and Youth Affairs.
In light of the fact that Comhairle na nÓg is for young people under the age of 18 and who therefore have no other voting mechanism to have their voice heard, Comhairle na nÓg is designed to enable young people to have a voice on the services, policies and issues that affect them in their local area.
Kerry Comhairle na nÓg is co-ordinated by Kerry County Council and the work programme is managed by the Kerry Diocesan Youth Service. It is a youth-led initiative that has around 60 members spread throughout the county. In recent years the Comhairle have organised initiatives highlighting issues affecting young people including mental health, sexual health, plus drug and alcohol awareness. They have also been involved in many consultative processes on issues or for projects within the county which effect young people, such as the 1916 Commemorations.


Municipal Districts (Listowel and South & West)

The Local Government Reform Act 2014 abolished Town Councils and introduced a new system of Municipal Districts. County Kerry was divided into four Municipal Districts, which are based on the local electoral areas (LEA) used for election of Councillors. The number of County Councillors was increased from 27 to 33 and the allocation of Councillors is as follows:

Local Electoral Area Seats District
Killarney 8 Municipal District of Killarney
Listowel 7 Municipal District of Listowel
South & West Kerry 9 Municipal District of South & West Kerry
Tralee 9 Municipal District of Tralee

At Municipal District Level a Cathaoirleach & leas Cathaoirleach are elected annually to chair the Municipal District meetings.   The work of the Municipal District Councils includes the adoption of standing orders to regulate the conduct of meetings, and the adoption of schedules of Municipal works.  The work programme includes the monitoring of the schedules of works, receiving deputations, meeting agencies and other bodies, performing certain reserved functions.  In addition the role is to raise, discuss and decide on local matters relevant to the Municipal District.
The nine member South & West Kerry Municipal District, the largest in geographic terms in the country, stretches across three peninsulas from Kenmare to Dingle.
There are five scheduled towns in the area: Dingle, Milltown, Killorglin, Cahersiveen, and Kenmare.

Contact Us
The Community Department
County Buildings
066 7183680